Ah, Holidays

I’m ready to jump into full holiday mode; snow has started falling, Thanksgiving is just down the block, and we started in on our holiday movie viewing a little early.  Thanks to Aunt Mo, ‘Rado has been introduced to the wonderful world of old school Christmas classics.  His favorite so far is this:

Do you remember this movie?  Of the hit list of Frosty the Snowman, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, and Santa Claus is Coming to Town, The Little Drummer Boy is my least favorite.  But when Connor asked to watch it tonight, when I saw him completely enthralled by and engaged in it, it became almost as magical to me as I imagine it to be for him, but for a completely different reason.  His innocence and seeing it engage with the world around him is so goddamn beautiful that it pains me to not be able to lock it up – I could cry knowing that he’ll one day lose it and that, in turn, the world my lose some of its luster for him.  That’s why I find it hard to say “No” sometimes; it’s not about hurting his feelings, it’s about showing him what real life is like, little by little.  Then again, knowledge of reality doesn’t negate innocence.  Everyone perceives reality differently so whose to say that we can’t create our own world to allow innocence to thrive alongside reality?  Isn’t that what most parents hope to do, consciously or not?  I deal with that one myself each day.  I’m not an innocent, but I work hard to make my world one that I can happily live in without feeling downtrodden, dirty, and lifeless. The Little Drummer Boy doesn’t quite do it for me, but these do (yes, I bring these up every year.  Get used to it):

    

I f-ing love the holidays!  What I don’t love is the continued retail-ization of it.  Please, please, please don’t go shopping on Thanksgiving, and if you feel the need to cash in on Black Friday deals wait until a godly hour to do so.  Even better, don’t go and just sit at home in all your pajama-bottom clad, pot-bellied, post-Thanksgiving glory and wallow in the fact that you don’t have to go back to work for two more glorious days.  If you’re not sure how to do any of that give me a call.  I’ll be giving lessons at the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

